New York City Council     Members

This bill would expand and increase the penalties for licensed Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) drivers who flee TLC enforcement agents or police officers by making the penalty applicable to all TLC licensed drivers and by increasing the fine to not less than $1000 and not more than $2,500, from not less than $750 and not more than $1,000. The imprisonment of up to 90 days for each offense would remain unchanged.

  • Committee

History

City Council
Re-referred to Committee by Council
City Council
Referred to Comm by Council
City Council
Introduced by Council

Int. No. 896

 

By Council Members Miller, Adams, Richards and Holden

 

A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to expanding and increasing penalties for drivers who flee TLC enforcement agents

 

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:

 

Section 1. Subdivision l of section 19-506 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:

l. A  person  is  guilty of unlawful fleeing a New York city taxi and limousine enforcement officer or police officer when, knowing that he or she has been directed to remain stopped by a  New  York  city  taxi  and limousine enforcement officer or police officer, the driver of a vehicle operating  pursuant  to a [HAIL] license issued by the commission [who is stopped in a zone where he or she is not permitted to pick up street hails] thereafter  attempts  to flee  such  officer  by setting the vehicle in motion and either travels over  three  hundred  feet  without  stopping  or  engages  in   conduct constituting  reckless  driving  as  defined  in  section twelve hundred twelve of the vehicle and traffic law. Unlawful fleeing a New York  city taxi   and   limousine  enforcement  officer  or  police  officer  is  a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than  [seven  hundred  fifty dollars  nor  more  than one thousand dollars] $1,000 nor more than $2,500, or by imprisonment of not more  than  ninety  days  or  by  both  such  fine   and   imprisonment. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of law, any charge alleging a violation of this subdivision shall be returnable before a court having jurisdiction over misdemeanors.

§ 2. This local law takes effect 120 days after it becomes law.

 

 

KW / BM

Int. 874-2015 / LS 5286

LS # 5900

3/8/2018 12:00 p.m.