This bill would double the fines for the owner or operator of a taxicab or FHV who allows a driver without the proper TLC license to operate such a vehicle from $1,000-$2,000 to $2,000 -$4,000 and for individual operating with a proper license from $500-$1,000 to $1,000-$2,000.
- Filed (End of Session)
Int. No. 973
By Council Members Maisel, Holden, Koslowitz, Yeger and Rivera
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to increasing penalties for operating a taxicab or for-hire vehicle without a license
Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
Section 1. Paragraph 1 of subdivision b of section 19-506 administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:
b. 1. Except as provided in paragraph 2 of this subdivision, any person who shall permit another to operate or who shall knowingly operate or offer to operate for hire any vehicle as a taxicab, coach, wheelchair accessible van, HAIL vehicle or for-hire vehicle in the city, without first having obtained or knowing that another has obtained a license for such vehicle pursuant to the provisions of section 19-504 of this chapter, shall be guilty of a violation, and upon conviction in the criminal court shall be punished by a fine of not less than [one thousand dollars] $2,000 or more than [two thousand dollars] $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than sixty days, or both such fine and imprisonment. This paragraph shall apply to the owner of such vehicle and, if different, to the operator of such vehicle.
§ 2. Subdivision d of section 19-506 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:
d. Any person, other than a person holding a driver's license issued pursuant to section 19-505 and a New York state class A, B, C or E license, neither of which is revoked or suspended, who drives or operates for hire a licensed vehicle in the city except a commuter van, shall be guilty of a violation, and upon conviction in the criminal court, shall be punished by a fine of not less than [five hundred dollars] $1,000 nor more than [one thousand dollars] $2,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding thirty days, or both such fine and imprisonment.
§ 3. This local law takes effect in 60 days.
LS # 6621
5/1/2018 5:30 p.m.