This bill would increase, from $500 to $1,000, the maximum civil penalty that may be imposed on a person who maintains, operates or conducts a garage or parking lot without a license issued by the Department of Consumer Affairs.
- Filed (End of Session)
Int. No. 1012
By Council Member Holden and the Public Advocate (Mr. Williams) (by request of the Queens Borough President)
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to increasing the maximum fine for maintaining, operating or conducting a garage or parking lot without a license
Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
Section 1. Section 20-332 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as added by local law number 153 for the year 2013, is amended to read as follows:
§ 20-332 Violation. [Any] a. Maintaining, operating or conducting without a license. Any person who violates subdivision a of section 20-321 shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for each violation.
b. Other violations. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision a of this section, any person who violates any of the provisions of this subchapter or any rule or regulation issued thereunder shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than five hundred dollars for each violation; except that a person shall not be subject to such civil penalty for a first-time violation of subdivision b of section 20-324 of this subchapter and any rule or regulation issued thereunder, if such person proves to the satisfaction of the department, within thirty days of the issuance of the notice of violation and prior to the commencement of an adjudication of the violation, that the violation has been cured. The submission of proof of a cure shall be deemed an admission of liability for all purposes. The option of presenting proof that the violation has been cured shall be offered as part of any settlement offer made by the department to a person who has received, for the first time, a notice of violation of subdivision b of section 20-324 of this subchapter or any rule or regulation issued thereunder. The department shall permit such proof to be submitted electronically or in person. A person may seek review, in the department’s administrative tribunal, of the determination that the person has not submitted proof of a cure within fifteen days of receiving written notification of such determination.
§ 2. This local law takes effect immediately.